BK Wins at ‘Dega!


Article first published as Keselowski Survives Dega Carnage to Win on Technorati.[/box]

TALLADEGA, Ala. — Brad Keselowski won the Aaron’s 499 on Sunday at Talladega Superspeedway driving away from second place driver Kyle Busch.

It was the second trip to victory lane for BK this season, his second at Talladega  and the sixth of his short Sprint Cup Series career. Keselowki handed Dodge its first victory at Talladega since Dave Marcis sored a win in 1976.

Busch took second, followed by Matt KensethKasey Kahne and Greg Biffle rounding out the top-five. Clint BowyerDavid RaganTrevor BayneDale Earnhardt Jr. and Jeff Burton in 10th.

A succession of late race cautions drove the race six laps past its scheduled 188.

With 45 laps remaining the competitors were just starting out a set of green-flag pit stops wen a chain-reaction wreck in Turn 3 took out many contenders, including pole-sitter Jeff Gordon.

Aric Almirola and Dave Blaney made slight contact triggering the crash and ending the day for Martin TruexCarl Edwards and Juan Montoya, among others.

“It was like a wreck at a stoplight,” Edwards said. “Everybody started checking up and hitting each other.”

With Paul Menard leading the race went green on lap 151.  Hamlin, surged to the front, where he raced Brad Keselowski for the lead.

Kenseth was sent to the back of the field for pitting too soon under the Lap 143 caution, but wasted no time driving himself back into contention. He drove past Denny Hamlin on Lap 167 for the lead, with Keselowski and AJ Allmendinger following close behind.

Casey Mears cut a tire on lap 175 and brought out a caution setting up a restart with nine laps to go.

On lap 181, Kurt Busch spun into the inside wall at the entry to Turn 1 bringing out another caution. Kenseth led the field back to green on lap 185.

The green flag didn’t last long. As soon as the leaders crossed the start/finish line, Hamlin made a quick move to the inside; and Allmendinger adjusted and clipped the nose of Hamlin’s car taking out a few Dega hopefuls such as Kevin HarvickTony Stewart and Michael Waltrip.

NASCAR Sprint Cup returns to Darlinton Raceway for next Saturday night’s running of the Bojangle’s Southern 500, 6:30 pm EST on Fox.


Leave a Reply